Rethink WELLNESS Hub

CHOCOLATE BROWNIES… a gluten-free rescue story (and recipe!)

brownies gf Sometimes my attempts at new recipes are prompted by…well…  emergencies!

Yesterday was my oldest daughter’s 20th birthday!  I am still blinking back mommy pride and joy (tears).  Between her daddy’s work schedule and her work schedule, we decided that the gifts and goodies would wait until 11:30pm.  Her birthday is New Year’s Eve, so somehow that worked.

Sad to admit, but in all the details of my world, I had decided to have the only gluten-free option that I could pick up.  Cheesecake Factory promotes their Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake as such an option.  Expensive, yes!  But 20th birthday party!

So, since my daughter works there and would be there until 11pm, I made arrangements for her to pick it up.  Only problem… she forgot!  We live about 35 minutes from her work, so returning at midnight on New Year’s Eve was not a safe option.  She alerted me as I was returning home from a New Year’s Eve gathering with my husband.  I don’t know about you, but no cake for a birthday is pitiful and absolutely unacceptable!

I ran in the door.  Rushed through internet sites for a chocolate (her favorite) gluten free dessert.  (She’s a gluten-free convert of 3 days now!)  Grabbed the bowls and ran through the recipe still wearing my coat!  Wanted it in the oven before she arrived.  Well, that didn’t happen.  But, the recipe was FANTASTIC!  The brownies made the perfect birthday treat!  Divine.  I am so happy to share it with you!

evas bday

My birthday girl named them…

“I-can’t-believe-it’s-NOT-GLUTEN-BROWNIES!”

Here’s what you need…

1 1/2 cups almond meal (as always, Trader Joes has great option)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups organic raw sugar ( I would love to play around with using honey)
6 large eggs (please use organic and cage free)
1/2 cup butter (again, my favorite is cultured organic butter)
1 1/2 cups semisweet or bittersweet organic chocolate chips, divided

evas dayIn mixing bowl, stir together almond meal, sea salt, cocoa powder, baking powder.

In sauce pan, gently melt butter with 1 cup of chocolate chips until smooth.  Move off of heat.

In another bowl, mix together eggs and sugar.

Now slowly pour the chocolate mixture into the egg mixture, stirring quickly to keep eggs from solidifying.  When this is thoroughly mixed, whisk in the dry mixture.  Stir until thoroughly mixed… no clumps.

more Eva and brownies

Smiles and Chocolate — Beautiful Gifts
Love You Precious Eva!

Pour batter into greased (coconut oil is great for this) rectangular glass baking dish.  Top with remaining chocolate chips.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes (or so).

Let cool.  Enjoy!  

These brownies are going to be “wet” not “cakey” at all.  

I absolutely LOVED them!  So did the Birthday Lady! 

The Birthday Gal had them for breakfast with sliced bananas on top this morning.  (uh… well… to be 20!)

3 comments on “CHOCOLATE BROWNIES… a gluten-free rescue story (and recipe!)

  1. Jessica
    February 2, 2014

    I can’t wait to try this recipe! ! I have really been missing brownies! !

    Thank you for all of this wonderful information! !

  2. Jessica
    February 3, 2014

    Oh my goodness! ! I head no idea gluten free brownies could be this amazing! ! Great. .. Great recipe! !

    • dea perkins
      February 4, 2014

      YES! I am so happy that you baked a batch! I literally bake a pan every weekend now. Even if we still “did gluten,” this would be my favorite brownie recipe! Thanks for visiting my blog and posting the feedback. Blessings to you in your journey!

Leave a Reply

